Fall is here.  I could scream that sentence from the roof tops today. As I grabbed the cold cup and added the hot coffee and then poured in the flavored pumpkin spice creamer. I thought to myself this is the beginning of my favorite time of year. Time for grey skies, red and yellow leaves, cooler air,sweaters, and good hair days! Fall signifies change. Trees shed their leaves only to begin the cycle over again. This is the harvest. Reaping the fruits of our labor. Growing in small bits at a time. As I thought about this I realized change affects us all differently...

Change is a big indicator of our own personal issues in life. It determines whether we are open to new ideas or new ways of doing something. When we are pressed with change, how do we first react?

Maybe you act defensive like I do, insisting that you know the best way and there can’t be another one or else you would have done it like that from the beginning.  

Maybe you react out of fear, shying away from change because it means becoming uncomfortable with things. Perhaps you feel like it would just cause conflicts in areas you are happy with.

Maybe you want to command change, and if it doesn’t happen the way you expect it’s got to be wrong.

Maybe you think you are okay with change, But if you think back to when you made a huge decision and things didn’t work out exactly how you might have expected you may have had nervousness, stress, or anxiety. 

Change is something everything on earth experiences. 

The world was not the concrete jungle we live in today. 

Someone had an idea, a passion, a dream, a desire. Change was whispering in their ear...They followed it and it created a new surface to work from.  

As a result of this thing called change…roads began popping up as a way to get around. People were able to travel further see more of the world we live in and as a result more change occurred. People saw more, believed more, dreamed more, and now change is a part of all of us. Even our seasons change every year. Some summers are hotter than others, some winters it snows and others it’s warm enough to wear shorts to Christmas dinner. 

If change was not a part of our world. . . I could not be married to my husband today. Thankfully A man had a dream, and so did many other people. As a result of that change . . . couples all over the world can be embraced and not scorned.

Another thing I love about change is the fact that you can almost always sense it. You can practically taste it before it happens. That moment when I breathe and it’s there…on the horizon I welcome it.

It’s not until it's right up next to me that I tend to shift in my skin about whether or not its best. It’s like when you go to get a tattoo. I don’t know this from personal experience but everyone I have ever gone with has been so sure of what they want until they get there. They are a stick in the mud about what they want tattooed on them forever... Until they get there. When they get there they feel anticipation, combined with the intense fear that they might maybe be getting the wrong thing. It’s like a pit of your stomach fear. That scared feeling because you’ve never done this before. 

 I think of that feeling. And in the second that I am feeling it I know it’s a big choice I am about to make. I know that it will CHANGE everything. But I sit here knowing that many other people before me had to make that choice, had to make a change. Had to stick to their guns. Many people made decisions that have made our world better. Many people fought a long fight to make a difference to fix something that they saw as wrong.

 "For the past 33 years, I have looked in the mirror every morning and asked myself: 'If today were the last day of my life, would I want to do what I am about to do today?' And whenever the answer has been 'No' for too many days in a row, I know I need to change something." Steve Jobs 
 
Steve Jobs knew something was wrong. When he went too many days in a row with the same mindset. He knew he had to change something or he would get stuck doing something he didn't believe in or feel passionate about. 



If you are in that instant.

If you are in this phase of change.

Of difficult decision making…

Know that there is a reason. Struggles are not always about what’s happening here and now in front of us. But more so about what our main purpose is in life. We can never know with one decision where it will take us but when we sit back in our 80’s and look at our life….we may see that welcoming some change in our life created more opportunity and a better life for others.

Without ideas there would be no progress, without instruments there would be no music… Without roads….there would be no road trips… without change. There would be no difference.



Speak Life Sisters
- Jessica Smith Wallace



Leave a Reply.