"Being 23 is like being out in orbit with every dream just barely out of reach."
-Jessica
If i am being completely honest....
I would have to tell you that being 23 has been the best year of my life....
There are moments when I think back to the years of friends who left me, people who back-stabbed me, and those who just plain didn't care about anything but themselves. When I think about them....I realize I don't ever want to be them
I live my life trying to be encouraging to others. It's like God pointed at me and said Jessica....THIS IS YOUR PURPOSE. To make people feel welcomed and wanted. 
Robb & I have always been the best of friends. talking about any and everything. But this year I have special girlfriends who I feel I can share my heart with. These are the girlfriends who.....sure we have our different lifestyle choices......




BUT THAT IS THE BEAUTY IN OUR FRIENDS



We don't have to like the same things all the time, in fact being with a friend you have nothing in common with can be an awesome learning experience. 



If we were just friends with people who are like us, that's our way of saying we have nothing left to learn. That we know it all. That we have no need for change, & lets be honest with one another, change is one of the best thing that can happen in our 20's. Changing where we live, where we work, who we love.....most things are still temporary in our twenties. 


WE still have the time we need to figure out who we are. 


I was talking with a friend of mine late last night about life. And I was thinking about how I was 23 years old, turning 24 this year.... I'm almost 10 years past 15..... What an overwhelming thought. At 15 I thought I knew how life worked. I thought I had things all figured out & when I moved out things would certainly just come to me. 
What a childlike notion. What naivety. Little did i know that I would feel so out of control...being 23 is like being out in orbit with every dream just barely out of reach....like stars in the universe. The light from my dreams can be seen from earth but in reality the dream is a lot of hard work and perseverance away. 


Like walking through sand....The weight of all our parents hopes and dreams weigh us down from doing what we want.... we want to run, we want to find our talent and embrace it. But we have to learn to let go of expectations and sometimes striking out on our own is the only way we have that real life experience. For some it can be found in a tragedy....for others in nature, for some....it won't be found until after children are grown & we hit 40....


In our twenties is not always the time we realize and find that. In life we learn to look at what we like, and what we don't. Maybe we go in our parents footsteps and realize later in life that we don't like what we do for a living.... so we change it...Change should always be welcomed, & life can NEVER be controlled. 


I hope this made you think about your life. When was your Ah Ha moment? Post it on my facebook page or on the blog! :) Much LOVE!


-jessica



Leave a Reply.